Please remember that a player must legally pocket a ball or else at least 4 object balls must contact a cushion for it to be considered a legal break. If one of these conditions is not met, the balls MUST be re-racked. This is not to be confused with a “foul” on break which would allow the opponent to take “ball in hand” from anywhere on the table. If a foul occurs on a break AND it is also an illegal break, the balls MUST be re-racked. In the event of an illegal break, anyone from either team may inform the players that the balls must be re-racked and it will not be a charged timeout. In the unfortunate event that there is an illegal break, the balls are not re-racked, and the game is completed, the game WILL count. The reasoning behind this ruling is that it would likely be too difficult to ascertain if a break was legal once the game was finished and it would almost certainly cause a controversy.